Life Change

20131104-213032.jpg

The majority of the time this blog is an opportunity for me to focus on the community around me specifically weightlifters and Cross itters. Every now and then I will post something that is specifically near and dear to my heart or specific to my life. Today’s post is one of those posts. Last night Megan and I revealed to our friends and last Thursday we had previously revealed to our family that we are having a baby girl.

Somebody may call this really terrible theology but based on 1 Thessalonians I believe that God gives us struggles and circumstances and gifts specifically to sanctify us. This little girl I believe is one of God’s gifts meant for that reason. It’s no secret to those around me that I secretly desired a little boy and the video here is a good look into my surprise when I found out it was a girl. I honestly was 85% confident we were having a boy.

As a coach and a older brother I look back on my life and the decisions that I made and the idea of raising a little girl scares me to death. Everyone who knows me has already reminded me that our little girl will have me wrapped around her finger. I have no doubt this will be true. However, the road ahead for me raising a little girl will likely involve a much greater amount of compassion, kindness, and affirmation than I’m used to.

I honestly have no idea what the next months, years, and decades will hold for Megan and I. We both have been given this little girl by the Lord and we pray He equips us well for raising her in a Gospel-centered home.

After the first couple days of shock wore off I can honestly say I have been excited for very few things more than this. Can’t wait to hold this little girl in my arms and Lord willing be wrapped around her finger for every phase after that. Thank you for allowing me for one day to verbalize a little of what’s going on in our household. I can almost guarantee you that over the next months and years this little girl will have a huge impact on the words written on this blog.

20131104-213046.jpg

20131104-213056.jpg

17 responses to “Life Change

  1. When I found out we were having a girl I felt the same way. My daughter is now turning 2 and she is the most precious thing in my life! She makes me smile everyday, I didn’t know I was capable of so much love. So happy for you man.

  2. Congrats Spencer and Megan – what a blessing! It’s great to watch others go through this life change. I’ve got six in my “quiver” and they’re all special gifts. Just don’t drop bumper plates during naps!

  3. Congrats!! My wife and I just had our second boy just 6 months ago, and i can relate. I thought for sure I was going to have a little girl and when my wife and I found out we were having another boy, i’ll admit i was a little bumbed because my heart was set on having a little girl. But God knows best and has a reason for everything. Just shows that your little family is not done. God Bless you brother!!

  4. Congratulations Spencer & Megan! Having a child is by far the most amazing journey! It truly is a miracle creating a human being and watching them grow. Embrace every moment and document everything! Be IN the moment!

  5. Congrats Spencer! Why so nervous raising a girl? Just put a ponytail in her hair and get her on the barbell. And when the boys start coming around, show them how freakishly strong you are!

  6. Only good Dads worry about being good Dads. You will be fine. I wanted a boy as well and was blessed with a girl who changed everything about me. By far the best thing in my life is being a father to her.

  7. Congrats, Spencer. Like a few others here, I was in the same boat: thought I wanted a boy and had a girl (then subsequently two boys). It is fun for me to watch other expecting fathers go through this because I know what happens on the other side. You will laugh at yourself for ever having these thoughts knowing how amazing it is to have a little girl. I came from three boys and thought I was not equipped to handle a girl. Turns out, all you really have to do is spoil the heck out of them and love them! Having a girl will also make you a better husband and a better man. Enjoy the ride.

  8. Pingback: Happy New Years: Here’s to 2014 | Glory·

Leave a comment