When to Flex The Wrists

Today’s post will be relatively short.  However, it’s a concept that I stumbled on in the past couple weeks.

I have ALWAYS flexed my wrists at the start of the snatch or clean.  From the very beginning.  Recently, my coach mentioned that this actually does very little for helping keep the bar close and puts the wrists under greater tension for longer.  If the wrist is flexed from the beginning then the arm and wrist act as one solid unit which is no different than the wrist being neutral.  The only difference is that the bar may starts a couple inches close to you.

However, there is a time and place to flex the wrist.  Flex the wrist in the lifts when the bar reaches and begins to move out of the power position.  This will allow for the wrists to help keep the bar close, the wrists not to be under tension for so long, AND allow the flexion of the wrists to create greater speed in the turnover when the lifter extends the wrists during the third pull.

Give this a shot this week.  Flex the wrists with elbows out at the top of the second pull entering the third.  See if that trick helps you keep the bar close and creates greater speed in the turnover.  It has worked for me.  Take a look at some of the pictures below at these lifters with flexed wrists just before turnover.

4 responses to “When to Flex The Wrists

  1. I have actually found that flexing the wrists at the setup and throughout the pull can really help with lat activation to get the bar sweeping back. I’ve actually heard this from a few different sources, and recently tried it out myself and with a couple of my lifters who have a hard time getting the bar to move back and I was surprised at how much it seemed to help. Even if the wrists are not actually in flexion, I’ve found that the effort in at least trying to flex them seems to help me use my lats more. Any thoughts on this? Love your blog by the way, I read it first thing every day.

    • Used to think this as well. However flexing the wrists at the hips I found I can keep the bar closer as it helps keep the elbows out. You can flex your lats without flexing your wrists. However, I can understand that different things work for different athletes.

  2. Hey Spencer. I coach and program Olympic Lifting at my box and have followed/kept up with Outlaw for over a year as well as Catalyst athletics lifting, and credit the Outlaw Way for creating my love with the Lifts. I always appreciate new information I have yet to learn. I am curious, who is your personal lifting coach?
    Appreciate all that you do,
    -Robert

Leave a Reply

