I Am Among Men Most Richly Blessed

pickens view

A CONFEDERATE SOLDIER’S PRAYER

Author Unknown,

(Attributed to a battle weary C.S.A soldier near the end of the war)

I asked God for strength, that I might achieve;

I was made weak, that I might learn humbly to obey.

I asked for health, that I might do greater things;

I was given infirmity, that I might do better things.

I asked for riches, that I might be happy;

I was given poverty, that I might be wise.

I asked for power, that I might have the praise of men;

I was given weakness, that I might feel the need of God.

I asked for all things, that I might enjoy life;

I was given life, that I might enjoy all things.

I got nothing that I asked for, but everything I hoped for.

Almost despite myself, my unspoken prayers were answered.

I am among all men most richly blessed.

 

I know there are a whole lot of different views and perspectives on the Civil War.  I grew up in Georgia…of all people I know.  However, this prayer caught my attention this week.  It’s a great reminder that often what we want or desire doesn’t come out the way we think it should BUT thanks to God’s grace it comes out the way we NEED.  This makes us, among men, most richly blessed.

As I wind down my days in the North Georgia mountains with my family before heading back to flat, concrete Dallas, I can’t help but be reminded how blessed I am.  Not necessarily with everything I wanted but more than I ever hoped for.

Leave a comment