Happy Anniversary!

DSC_0225

“An excellent wife who can find? She is far more precious than jewels.  The heart of her husband trusts in her, and he will have no lack of gain.”  Proverbs 31: 10-11
Three years ago today at about 6:00 PM I stood face-to-face with the most gentle, caring, compassionate woman I’ve ever known and joyfully we became husband-and-wife. Proverbs 31 says an excellent wife is far more precious than jewels.  In today’s society that means that Megan, who is excellent, will always outweigh any amount of financial game, prestige, or reputation. She literally is the second most valuable thing next to Jesus that will ever be a part of my life. Three years ago our two separate lives became one and the rest has been one heck of a memorable ride.

As I reflect back on the last three years, Solomon’s words in Proverbs begin to become more and more clear to me. Without Megan I wouldn’t be who I am today and certainly would lack in many of the areas that I have seen the Lord develop in me. Christ has used Megan’s intelligence, kindness, and patience to do a miraculous work in me.   When I look back on the child that I was when we got married and all that has happened in three years I can’t help but give complete credit to the Lord working through my wife. This honestly makes me incredibly excited to see what the next 60, 70, or 80 years old.  Three years I neglected and disregarded the adage that behind every great man is a greater woman. Three years into our marriage every word of that phrase has turned out to be true.  And I’m not saying that I’m great but I am saying that she is.

Those of you who are happily married with a proverbs 31 woman then everything I’m saying should make sense to you. For you single men, trust me when I say that chasing anything besides what is described in proverbs 31 is shortsighted and asking for a marriage that will not last. I’m only three years into our marriage and I realize that God’s get greatest gift to me is and will remain my wife.

Megan, it goes without saying that I am eternally grateful for your love and your patience with me. Everyone who knows us agrees that I have way out kicked my punt coverage and the Lord has blessed me with way more than I deserve.  You’re gorgeous and make life 100% more fun. I know that without you I would not be the man I am today.  To prevent this from becoming too sappy I think it can be summed up to say that I am beyond blessed, thankful, and honored that you would spend the last three years with me.  I can’t wait to enjoy and walk through what God puts in front of us for the rest of our lives. I am lucky to be doing it with you. Happy Anniversary!

4 responses to “Happy Anniversary!

  1. Congratulations and thanks for the continuing demonstration of your faith in a time where that may not be the vogue thing to do.

  2. By the Grace of God in a few days will celebrate 12years of marriage. He is who keeps us, thanks for your thoughts .

  3. Pingback: Happy Thanksgiving! | Glory·

Leave a comment