Making A List… Checking It Twice

One of the more important things weightlifters have to be prepared for is the unexpected.  This year’s American Open marks the first time in my competition career that I will get to compete at home and stay in my own bed the night before competition.  This makes a lot of the preparatory work much easier but there is a list of materials and items that are a necessity regardless of location.  For those of you competing this weekend that may be reading this.  Here are some of the things that I always make sure to buy 1-2 days ahead of time and make sure to have with me at the competition venue.

Some of these need no explanation.  Others I will walk you through why it’s crucial for me.

– Pedialyte, Mineral Water mixed 50/50.  Seems to be the best combination to allow me to rehydrate after weigh in

– Berries: Strawberries, Blueberries, Raspberries, you get the picture.  Seems to be the best fruit to spike my insulin just enough for competition.

– Deli Roast Beef: This is a weird one for me.  I have experimented with all kinds of foods for after weigh-in and during competition and this seems to be the best.  My first Junior Nationals, I went straight to Subway the second after weighing in and devoured a footlong meatball sub.  My thinking was it will be good protein for fuel during the competition.  I left the platform after my last clean and jerk and immediately puked.  I have since moved to simple roast beef.  I’m a little particular about what kind but roast beef tends to do the ticket.

– Both flexible and regular athletic tape.  Self explanatory here.

– Nail clippers and trimming clippers.  Calus rips, skin tears, etc

– My own block of chalk.  I do this on the off chance that they run out of blocks of chalk.  Weird thing but I like it better than the powder.

– Tiger Balm.  Tight muscles or any unforeseen stiffness.

– Ibuprofen

– Gauze and alcohol wipes should the bar cause some blood on my shin.

– Lacrosse ball, stretching bands

– The obvious: shoes, singlet, belt, wrist wraps

– A dozen homemade chocolate chip cookies.

 

1 day out…

One response to “Making A List… Checking It Twice

Leave a Reply

